Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
PRESS RELEASE June 30, 2018Contact: Connie Conway(631) 702-1743
An old fashioned celebration was held in Hampton Bays to formally open the historic “Lyzon Hat Shop” to the public. Elected officials, community residents, visitors and descendants of the famed hat maker gathered for the ribbon cutting ceremony to tip their hats to this beautiful iconic building.
Located at 116 West Montauk Highway, the Lyzon Hat Shop dates back to the 1850’s and once served as a shop for one-of-a-kind hats by Walter King to the rich and famous.
The building was donated by Anita and Bryan Whalen to the Hampton Bays Historical Society. A few years later the Hampton Bays Historical and Preservation Society turned it over to the Town of Southampton. It was moved to its current location and the building was renovated to replicate its original design using Community Preservation Funds. Some of the original hats are now on display. The Hampton Bays Historical and Preservation Society now manages the exhibits and runs the museum.
The family fun festivities included hat making tips, ice cream making and tasting, a quilting demonstration and refreshments.
To capture the spirit of yesteryear, participants were entertained by the Long Island Sound Chorus, Sweet Adelines.
For more information call the Hampton Bays Historical and Preservation Society at 631-728-0887.